Congratulations to MPFI’s Summer Undergrad Researchers

August 3, 2023

Over the past two months, MPFI labs hosted over 20 talented undergraduate researchers for summer research projects, many of whom received awards and fellowships to support their work.

Rebecca DiCicco (Inagaki lab) and Ohm Parikh (Yasuda lab), both Florida Atlantic University students, were awarded competitive John Nambu Memorial Fellowships from FAU.

FAU’s National Science Foundation SINE program, which brings students from around the country to Jupiter for a 10-week fellowship, sponsored Belmont University student Zoe Niesen in the Electron Microscopy core.

Two students from FAU High School in Jupiter in partnership with the Max Planck Academy, Amanda Grodman (EM core) and Addison Manofsky (Wang lab), were awarded Magar Fellowships in Neural Data Science. This prestigious award is named in honor of former state representative MaryLynn Magar, a longtime advocate for biomedical research.

Avi Kanakam in the Stern lab received a competitive Morton Research Fellowship in Data Science from the Wilkes Honors College.

Each of these specialized Research Experiences for Undergrads (REUs) culminated in a special presentation of research held at FAU’s Jupiter campus on Thursday, July 27. These six MPFI undergraduate researchers presented posters to the audience of researchers and community leaders. REUs at FAU’s Jupiter campus first officially started in 2016, with MPFI undergrads first receiving these awards in 2021. These programs support extensive hands-on lab experience for students pursuing degrees in neuroscience, and provide valuable lab support for MPFI researchers.

Other students conducting research at MPFI this summer included: Ben Bargeron (Bidaye Lab), Julia McDuffee (Light Microscopy core), Abhi Srigiriraju (Stern Lab), Saachi Mody (Fitzpatrick Lab), Briana Granitto (Fitzpatrick Lab), Nicholas Moy (Rangaraju Lab), John Vo (Stern Lab), Anish Sathish (Bolton Lab), Jensen Teel (Bidaye Lab), Matthew Kidd (Stern Lab), Derek Meyer (Stern Lab), Ava Jensen (Bolton Lab) and Lucas Todoberto (Fitzpatrick Lab).

View Photos from the Research Experience for Undergraduates Poster Session